Sunday, May 10, 2009

Restricting users to see other's information

Scenario:
By default, if you have even Read permission to sharepoint site, you can easily see other's details by clicking on People and Group link. May not be a good idea, if people are storing their personal information.Thanks God, there is a way to restrict it.

Solution:
1. Login as site owner
2. Navigate to people and group
3. Click on Site Permissions
4. Navigate to Settings > Permission Level
5. Select the permission level ( in my case Read )
6. Un-check Browse User Information ( View information about users of the Web site.)

Downside
Un-checking Browse User Information permission will also take away Check Edit Personal User Information ( Allows a user to change his or her own user information, such as adding a picture.) permission , so users will not be able to view/edit their own information. You can design a webpart to do that separatly.

You are all set. Comments ?

1 comments:

Srini Sistla May 14, 2009 at 9:14 PM  

Our requirement seeks to have users seek their own atleast. So, i had to come up with this post to overcome. This is not so good solution but helping us for the time being until we find a good one.

-Srini