Scenario:
Name ActiveX Control prompt issue
Reason:
SharePoint sites all include the Name ActiveX Control and, if it is not installed or approved by IE, IE displays a message until it is installed or approved as shown below
Solution:
KB31509 explains a few options
One of the things you can do on the client computer to prevent this message from appearing. Unfortunately, this is not an ideal scenario because users should not have to configure their desktops or browsers to view a content site. Also, many users may not have privileges to change the registry or the Internet Explorer trusted sites list.
KB article also describes a third option that involves changing the ECMAScript files installed by SharePoint Server. Unfortunately, this method is not ideal because it does not always work and it involves changing built-in files that can be overwritten by future hotfixes, service packs, or upgrades.
Another option is to create a custom ECMAScript file that overrides the ECMAScript function that contains a call to the Name ActiveX control, as demonstrated in Randy Drisgill blog. The ECMAScript file should include a function that overrides the built-in ProcessDefaultOnLoad() function and simply comments out the call to the ProcessImn()function. Add a reference to the new ECMAScript file in the <head> portion of the master page for the site.
Checkout the fix FIX Details
Sunday, September 27, 2009
Friday, July 3, 2009
Scenario:
From my previous post , I got some more ideas and thought of what will happen if I enable Check in/Check out feature for documents and try to edit the metadata in Datasheet view. I got this.
Solution:
Solution is self explanatory , item need to be checked out before It can be edited. But the thing I liked this time was that view was aware of the problem. Microsoft is Microsoft.
Scenario:
This was a new thing I discovered while helping my friend to fix a small problem he was facing while editing his list in Datasheet view. Problem was that he can edit all the other lists in Datasheet view mode except the one he had for which Datasheet says its in Read Only mode.
Solution:
I started comparing all the properties of the list with a regular list. Content Approval was the culprit. Actually Content Approval locks the list to Read Only in Datasheet view. The fact that items can be in a pending or rejected state can be too confusing for that view.
Saturday, April 11, 2009
Scenario:
"Open with Windows Explorer" does not appear in ACTIONS
Solution:
Open with Windows Explorer feature is driven using an ActiveX just like Multiple Document Upload and Edit in Datasheet feature...
--> Client needs to have Microsoft Office installed in order to be able to upload multiple files.
Try out these option
1. Check if Multiple Document Upload and Edit in Datasheet features are working
2. Check if this feature ( Explorer ) is available from other machines
3. If you have done any updates on your machine or installed something .. restart the machine once.
I am 98% sure that this is machine specific issue. If you see this feature working from other machine , you can do a compare-match of your Internet Explorer settings.
Monday, March 30, 2009
Scenario:
Datasheet view / Multiple Upload options missing
Solution:
This can happen more than one reason. Lets see.
Is it missing for one client only? This means there is something issue with the client machine.
http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?scid=kb;EN-US;949670
Its missing for everyone ? This is server side issue.
http://kirkeberg.spaces.live.com/Blog/cns!807B63CB57585EB4!265.entry?wa=wsignin1.0&sa=749340664
Monday, February 2, 2009
Scenario:
One of my student called me and said that she is not able to start Document Conversion Service of MOSS from Central Administration Web Application.
I connected to her machine and realized that she is not able to start any of the service from the interface.
I have seen the same behaviour in past when drop down menu's and some ActiveX controls were not working properly at client machine.I tried few option as below
Solution:
1. Reboot the Virtual Machine , no luck.
2. Tried starting service manually.
( All Program > Administrative Tools > Services > Document Conversion Load Balancer Service ). This one worked and service was in running state but Central Administrative Web Application still says its not started.
3. Added Central Web Application to Trusted Site.
This one solved the problem.
Basically Web Application was not able to access the machine information like service current state being in wrong zone. Trusted site gave the Web Application trust to get that information.
:-)
Saturday, August 23, 2008
Scenario:
When you navigate a document library and click on Action > Open In Explorer View , nothing happens
Possible Reasons:
1. 'WebClient' service not running on the client computer.
2. Your Site is not listed as Trusted Site.
Resolution:
1. Make sure WebClient service is running.
2. Add the site to the list of Trusted Sites.
Steps:
1.a. Open 'Administrative Tools'
1.b. Open 'Services' and look for the 'WebClient' service.
1.c. If this one is stopped or disables, enable it and start it.
2.a. Open Internet Explorer
2.b. Go to Tools > Internet Options > Security.
2.c. Click on Trusted Sites and Add option
2.d. Add the site to the list of Trusted Sites.
Wednesday, August 6, 2008
Error:
The List cannot be displayed in Datasheet view for one or more of the following reasons.
1) Datasheet component compatible with Windows SharePoint Service is not installed
2) Your Web browser does not support ActiveX controls
3) Support for ActiveX controls is disabled
OR
A Windows SharePoint Services compatible application could not be found to edit the document.
Check:
1. You dont have Office 2003 Professional or later installed. The ActiveX control required for this feature is installed only during an Office 2003 Professional or later installation.
2. If this feature was working fine before,but now it doesn't. You might have installed some standard edition software ( i.e. Office Project 2003 Standard ) on top of Office 2003 Professional Edition.
Verify:
1. You should have Office 2003 Pro or later installed
2. Your browser does not block the use of ActiveX controls.
3. Check for different versions of Office Program